From portfolio to product

Today I met with Rachel & Lisa from WOW Workroom. It was very informative and exciting!

After much diConsolidated-Cushion-Tempates-for-webscussion, I left with lots of ideas on where I want to focus my attention initially.

Making Samples

I also committed to having 3 cushions made from the first fabric I had printed a while ago.  Unlike my recent print run, these are on polyester and were scaled to make 40cm cushions.  I used them to see how the base designs would scale.  Their successful printing then allowed me to believe that I could do more.  I am really looking forward to seeing how they look when made up.

Even more exciting, WOW Workroom are going to make up an iPad case, and 2 cosmetic bags using one Orig 023 Exuberance_on_Green WMof my favourite designs.  I don’t believe I’ve shared this design previously.  It is probably my favourite at the moment but is a bit different to most of them.  I’ve called it “Exuberance on Green” because it makes me feel exuberant and that’s how I felt when I created it.  The colours look gorgeous on the silk and I’m really excited to see how they look when made up.

I have to admit, it was a bit difficult to hand over my fabric knowing that it will be cut up!

Rachel and Lisa were then generous enough to look through the samples I’d brought and give me their reactions, identifying those they liked both.  Very useful indeed!!  Thank you Lisa and Rachel:-)

So apart from more waiting, I need to get on with the labelling, finding more “focus” groups, taking on board some of the information from today and most importantly, determining what the product line will be to start.

What would you like to see me make with the designs?

One response to “From portfolio to product

Leave a Reply

